Go to page content


July 2017

Gordon Jin, an academic staff member with the engineering co-operative education office, has been appointed chair of the Canadian Society for Civil Engineering’s (CSCE) Honours and Fellowships Committee for a two-year term. CSCE’s awards recognize and encourage the pursuit of excellence in civil engineering. The CSCE awards program is administered jointly by the CSCE Honours and Fellowships Committee and by the CSCE Foundation Trustees and funded by the generosity of CSCE members and others who support the society’s mission. Mr. Jin is a registered professional engineer in Newfoundland and Labrador and he has been an academic staff member with the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science’s co-operative education office for the past eight. He is a fellow of the Engineering Institute of Canada, a fellow of Engineers Canada and a fellow of the Canadian Society for Civil Engineering. Mr. Jin was also awarded the James A. Vance Award from CSCE and awarded the EIC Canadian Pacific Railway Engineering Medal.

The Board of Regents has approved the following appointments and reappointments to the Memorial University Recreation Complex (MURC) Board of Directors. Sophia Solomon, Matt Barter, Christian Samson and Osama Alagili have been appointed for one-year terms. Mike Fowler has been reappointed for a two-year term.

Use this list to select the year

Use this list to select a month from the year 2017

Submit a Notable

If you have news about faculty, students or staff that is timely and noteworthy, such as a professional/academic accomplishment or special recognition, you can submit via the form below. Notable submissions should run 80-120 words. Submissions may be edited for length/clarity. Your email address will not be published.